We are inviting nominations for the 2024 Robert K. Merton Award. The prize will be presented in person at the 16th Annual Conference of the International Network for Analytical Sociologists (INAS) on May 30 & 31 2023 in Leipzig, Germany.

Nominations, including self-nominations, are encouraged for papers on any topic related to analytical sociology, published in print (or online for online-only journals) during 2022 and 2023.

Papers paying special attention to the following elements will be particularly appreciated: clear specification of explanatory mechanisms; well-defined empirical explanatory focus; careful research design; detailing connections between levels of analysis; innovative and transparent methodological procedures, whether qualitative or quantitative; clarity in writing style.

Please send a copy of the nominated paper, together with a brief motivation to the committee chair at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Please put "INAS Merton Award Nomination" in the subject line of the email.

Nominations for the 2024 award are accepted until April 15, 2024.

We look forward to receiving your nominations,
The Award Committee

  • Neha Gondal (chair)
  • Christopher Muller (last year's winner)
  • Daniel Schrage (last year's winner)
  • Clemens Kroneberg

Download the call as PDF (110 kb)


Sign up to the INAS newsletter by filling out your name and email.

Subscribe here


The Robert K. Merton Award for the best paper in analytical sociology is an annual award announced at the annual INAS conference.

About the Robert K. Merton Award